Introducing the NCO & SOD Ski Teams

(Collingwood, ON) September 14th, 2017 – Alpine Ontario today announces the members of the National Capital Outaouais (NCO) and Southern Ontario Division (SOD) Ski Teams. These athletes represent a core group who have graduated from various U16 club programs and will compete on the FIS Circuit – provincially, nationally and in some cases internationally.

The International Ski Federation (FIS) is the governing body for international ski racing. All those skiers we see flying down the slopes on TV are FIS licensed athletes. Regardless of where they live in the world they too started out on this journey at the age of 15 with 999 points. Athletes can compete on the FIS circuit (FIS races, NorAm races, World Cup races) for as many as 20+ years (Didier Cuche recently retired at age 37 with 6 Crystal globes). For more information on how FIS points work visit

The NCO Ski Team is based in the National Capital Division (NCD) and is a unique program with athletes from both Alpine Ontario and Ski Quebec. The team puts the best with the best regardless of what province they come from. NCO Head Coach and the AOA U19 Athletic Consultant Joey Lavigne explains, “This team is a good example of the Provinces collaborating to produce great athletes including the likes of CAST Alumni and current Camp Fortune head coach, Pat Biggs. We have moved four athletes to Ontario Ski Team this year – Nicole Clarke, Alex Duff, Sam Duff and Hunter Watson – despite having a relatively small base to pull from. One of the contributing factors to this success is the NCO U16 program, led by former CAST athlete and Olympian JP Roy. Great coaches, a strong feeder system and amazing leaders like  Bruce Monkman contribute to creating a high quality, well organized program I’m very proud of. ”

The SOD Ski Team is steeped in history with a team that once ran alongside the Ontario Ski Team and consistently produced National Team Athletes. Men’s Head coach Taylor Martin has led the program for the past four years and comments, “The team is gaining ground each year and replaces what used to be multiple FIS programs at various SOD clubs. Like the NCO we are putting the best with the best and keeping the door open for athletes who all develop at different stages both physically and mentally.

Please join us on the slopes this season cheering on the next generation of FIS racers.

Coaching staff:
Joey Lavigne – Head Coach and FIS team coach
Randa Teschner – FIS team coach and former Ontario Ski Team athlete

Felix Boivin – Club Mont Ste Marie
James Elmgren – Camp Fortune Ski Club
Julia Gilmour – Club Mont Ste Marie
Eric Guimont – Vorlage Ski Club
Kirsten Harvey – Camp Fortune Ski Club
Jesse Holland – Camp Fortune Ski Club
Nicholas Labrecque – Camp Fortune Ski Club
Britton Quirk – Mont Tremblant Ski Club
Jacob Souligny – Club Mont Ste Marie
Gabby Rutter – Crabbe Mountain
Kobe Villeneuve – Camp Fortune Ski Club
*please note this is a Quebec/Ontario joint team. 


Men’s Head Coach: Taylor Martin
Men’s Assistant Coach: Northrop Johnston
Women’s Head Coach: Will Gyles

Men’s Team: 
Aidan Bogner – Craigleith Ski Club
Moses Brajkovich – Caledon Ski Club
Wyatt Currie – Devil’s Glen Country Club
Matt Doman – Osler Bluff Ski Club
Campbell Gardiner – Osler Bluff Ski Club
Austin Gust – Craigleith Ski Club
Michael Jaques – Osler Bluff Ski Club
Will King – Craigleith Ski Club
Noah  Levine – Milton Heights Racing Club
Ethan Machej – Craigleith Ski Club
Callum McCormack –     Osler Bluff Ski Club
Matti Metzger – Georgian Peaks Ski Club
Cullen Nissen – Georgian Peaks Ski Club
Ben Smegal – Craigleith Ski Club
Zach Temertzoglou – Georgian Peaks Ski Club
Luka Veljovic – Craigleith Ski Club
Evan Ward – Osler Bluff Ski Club
Ben Williamson – Alpine Ski Club

Women’s Team:  
Madelyne Bolton – Beaver Valley Ski Club
Anna Carruthers – Devil’s Glen Country Club
Elizabeth Filiatrault – Devil’s Glen Country Club
Bella Gigone – Georgian Peaks Ski Club
Amy Kress – Georgian Peaks Ski Club
Jessica Popadich – Craigleith Ski Club
Charlotte Smee – Devil’s Glen Country Club
Lauren Stackhouse –    Craigleith Ski Club
Chelsea Stewart – Osler Bluff Ski Club
Emma Wiliamson – Alpine Ski Club

The Lake Superior Division Alpine (LSDA) and Northern Ontario Division (NOD) FIS Teams will be announced later this fall.

About Alpine Ontario Alpin (AOA)
AOA is the provincial governing body for the sport of alpine ski racing in Ontario. Alpine Ontario’s newly refined mission is to provide leadership and structure for high quality, sustainable and affordable programming and to communicate the competitive, recreational and lifestyle benefits of ski racing to the community. AOA represents four divisions, 40 member clubs and over 5,000 active athletes, coaches and officials (volunteers). AOA coordinates several successful programs across the province and continues to foster the development of “state of the art” ski-racing programs from the grass roots level to the elite level.

– END –

For more information contact:
Kristin Ellis
Communications Manager
Alpine Ontario Alpin (AOA)
705-444-5111 x 132



Leave a Reply