Ontario Ski Racing Awards now open

Ontario Ski Racing Awards presented by Mackenzie Investments

Collingwood, ON (February 15th, 2018) – Alpine Ontario is excited to launch the 2018 Ontario Ski Racing Awards presented by Mackenzie Investments. This year, AOA is pleased to be expanding its awards list to include more ‘value’ oriented acknowledgments in addition to its traditional athletic awards. In total, 15 awards will be presented to recognize athletes, coaches, parents, clubs, officials and volunteers who have gone above and beyond the “norm” throughout this 2017-18 ski racing season!

The 2018 Ontario Ski Racing Awards are:

  1. Coach of the Year Award: (Jr. and Senior category)
  2. Community Volunteer of the Year
  3. Parent of the Year.
  4. AOA Chairperson of the Year
  5. Spirit of Sandy Proctor Award
  6. Athlete of The Year – Jr
  7. Athlete of the Year – Sr
  8. Lead by Example Award
  9. Most Improved Athlete Award
  10. Excellence & Leadership Award
  11. Fair Play Award
  12. Jonnie Peacock Award
  13. Services to Sport Award
  14. Club of the Year
  15. Athlete GRIT Award

Alpine Ontario welcomes and encourages submissions from across Ontario nominating the standout members within our ski community. The 2018 Ontario Ski Racing Awards will be selected by an external committee led by AOA Director, Allan Mihalcin of Thunder Bay. All nominations will be taken into consideration for the selection and voting process.

Allan Mihalcin – Chair (LSDA)
Wendy Bunston – Devil’s Glen Country Club
Larisa Yurkiw – CAST alumni
Pete Dyson – Level III Official
Scott Barrett – AOA Executive Director

Allan Mihalcin, Chair of the AOA Awards Committee comments, “The 15 award categories represents the entire spectrum of our sport, from parents to coaches to athletes and this year, the club as well. Our hope on the Awards Committee is to look beyond the podium, since the podium is what we recognize over and over again. I am thrilled to lead the process this year as the Chair of the Committee.  This is my way of giving back, and we look forward to the celebrations in April in Toronto.”

March 7th, 2018 is the final day for submitting your nominations. Voting will then commence March 19th and run until April 1st. Winners will be announced at the Mackenzie Investments Awards Gala held in Toronto on Thursday, April 18th.

To submit your nominations please visit alpineontario.ca/award.

– end –

Alpine Ontario Alpin (AOA) is the provincial governing body for the sport of alpine ski racing in Ontario. Alpine Ontario’s newly refined mission is to provide leadership and structure for high quality, sustainable and affordable programming and to communicate the competitive, recreational and lifestyle benefits of ski racing to the community. AOA represents four divisions, 44 member clubs and over 30,000 active athletes, coaches and officials (volunteers). AOA coordinates several successful programs across the province and continues to foster the development of “state of the art” ski-racing programs from the grass roots level to the elite level.


For more information contact:
Kristin Ellis
Communications Manager
Alpine Ontario Alpin (AOA)
705-444-5111 x132
[email protected]