U16 Team Canada & Team Ontario Whistler Cup

(COLLINGWOOD, ON) March 29, 2017 — Alpine Ontario Alpin (AOA) is pleased to recognize the following athletes who have qualified to attend the upcoming Mackenzie Investments 2017 Whistler Cup, April 13-16th. The following coaches will be leading the group of U16 racers including Katie Twible/Craigleith, Mike Byrne/Georgian Peaks, Jurg Gfeller/National Ski Academy and Martin Rog/NCD. The Team Canada coach from Ontario will be Wayne Howard/Alpine Ski Club.

Athletes qualified for these races based on their recent performances at the Mackenzie Investments U16 National Championships and from the recent U16 CanAms in Atttitash, NH. Alpine Canada Alpin additionally recognized Elizabeth Sullivan from Alpine Ski Club, Moro Bamber from Green Mountain Valley School (Georgian Peaks) and Aaron Puskas of the Norwesters Alpine Club as members of Team Canada.

The Whistler Cup is entering its 25th year and will see athletes from over 18 countries participating. It is a long standing tradition across the country and will  host over 400 athletes at the U14 and U16 levels along with 150 coaches and up to 300 volunteers.

AOA Executive Director Scott Barrett congratulates the Team. “We’re thrilled to see Elizabeth, Aaron and Moro selected to Team Canada! Well done to these outstanding athletes who stepped up and performed when it mattered most. For all of the U16 athletes it has been a hectic schedule with the addition of Nationals in to our mix;  mid-season of all things. We are super proud of your efforts and look forward to watching more action over the Easter weekend. Ski hard & enjoy the festivities that only Whistler can deliver!

Ashley Campbell – Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
Charlie Gougeon Comeau – National Ski Academy/SOD
Lauren Hunter – Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
Jayden Metcalfe – Osler Bluff Ski Club/SOD
Jessica Popadich – Craigleith Ski Club/SOD
Sophie Robinson – TBFAST/LSDA
Elizabeth, Sullivan – Alpine Ski Club/SOD – Team Canada
Daisy Taylor – National Ski Academy/SOD
Emma Williamson – Alpine Ski Club/SOD

Moro Bamber – Georgian Peaks Ski Club/GMVS (Vermont) – Team Canada
Lazlo Green – National Ski Academy/SOD
Zach Hyland – Craigleith Ski Academy/SOD
Oleksa Mojsiak – Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
Aaron Puskas – Norwesters Alpine Club/LSDA – Team Canada
Michael Sellery – Craigleith Ski Club/SOD
Ben Smegal – Craigleith Ski Club/SOD
Sean Swayze – Calabogie Ski Club/NCD

• April 13 : SuperG
• April 14: Giant Slalom
• April 15: Slalom
• April 16: Team Event

Visit the official event website whistlercup.com. Please find the full schedule here>>

About Alpine Ontario Alpin (AOA)
Alpine Ontario Alpin is the provincial governing body for the sport of alpine ski racing in Ontario. Alpine Ontario’s newly refined mission is to provide leadership and structure for high quality, sustainable and affordable programming and to communicate the competitive, recreational and lifestyle benefits of ski racing to the community. AOA represents four divisions, 44 member clubs and over 3,000 active athletes, coaches and officials (volunteers). AOA coordinates several successful programs across the province and continues to foster the development of “state of the art” ski-racing programs from the grass roots level to the elite level.

For more information contact:
Athletic Director
Mark Marshall
705-444-5111 x 121


Leave a Reply